Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Alsek Renewable Resources Council

Department: Environment | Agency website >>

Address: Box 2077, Haines Junction, Yukon, Y0B 1L0

Phone: 867-634-2524 | Fax: 867-634-2527


Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the Final Agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement, may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

The Council’s jurisdiction is Champagne and Aishihik First Nation Traditional Territory which includes the communities of Haines Junction, Canyon Creek, Takhini, Mendenhall, Silver City, Kloo Lake, Aishihik and Klukshu.

Authority: Champagne and Aishihik First Nations (“CAFN”) Final Agreement, Chapter 16.6
Period: February 14, 1995 to present
Type: Advisory


The Champagne and Aishihik First Nation and Yukon government each nominate 3 members and may each nominate 1 additional member as an alternate. Alternate members may participate in the work of the Council. The Council has 2 Co-Chairs as determined by the Council and appointed by the Minister of Environment.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: Resident within Champagne and Aishihik First Nation Traditional Territory. A resident is a person who has long term familiarity with Champagne and Aishihik First Nation Traditional Territory and its renewable resources and who lives in Champagne and Aishihik First Nation Traditional Territory.

Term: 3 year term (members and alternates).

Meetings: Every second and fourth Monday from October to the end of May. Second Monday of the month from June to September. Meetings start at 5:30 p.m. and are open to the public. Occasionally "in-camera" discussions take place and are closed to the public.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
Dawson-Beattie, Michelle   Co-Chair    05/04/2016   03/31/2017
MacKinnon, Cameron YG Member 08/30/2016 03/31/2019
Hume, Charles FN Member 04/01/2016 03/31/2019
Allan, James FN Alternate 05/04/2016 03/31/2019
Trotter, John YG Member 04/01/2015 03/31/2018
Trotter, John    Chair    01/20/2017    03/31/2017 
Joe, Larry FN Member 05/04/2014 05/03/2017
Dawson-Beattie, Michelle   FN Member   04/01/2015   03/31/2018
Karman, Bill       YG Member     04/01/2014   03/31/2017
Anderson, Richard    YG Alternate    05/04/2016    03/31/2019