Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Assessment Appeal Board

Department: Community Services

Address: c/o Box 2703, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 2C6

Phone: 867-667-5268 | Fax: 867-667-8276


The Board is a quasi-judicial board that hears and adjudicates on property assessment challenges respecting land and improvements. Decisions of the Board with respect to points of law may be appealed to the Supreme Court.

Without limiting the generality of anything contained in the Act, the Board has appellate jurisdiction to determine the extent, if any, to which:

  • land or improvements have been valued at too high or too low an amount;
  • land or improvements have been properly classified as to region, class or use;
  • land or improvements have been wrongfully entered on or omitted from the assessment roll;
  • the value at which an individual parcel of land or an individual improvement is assessed bears a fair and just relation to the value at which similar land or improvements are assessed in the area in which it is situated; and
  • an exemption has been properly allowed or disallowed.

The Board has original jurisdiction to investigate and adjudicate on assessments, classes of assessments and assessment rolls to ensure that the assessments and assessment rolls are equitable and that they represent fairly the assessment values provided for by the Act.


Period: 1980 to present
Type: Adjudicative


Cabinet appoints 3 members. This includes the Chair and Vice-Chair. The Chair is the Chief Executive Officer and supervises and directs the Board's work and presides at sittings. The Vice-Chair has and may exercise the Chair's powers if the Chair is unable to perform the duties of office or the office is vacant.

Appointment process: Order in Council

Requirements: Take and subscribe any oath or affirmation of office that is prescribed.

Term: 1—3 years.

Meetings: Once a year.

Is there a vacancy? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
Brennan, Walter Chair and Member       05/01/2017  04/30/2020      
Chasse, Leo    Vice-Chair and Member    05/01/2017    04/30/2020 
Charbonneau, Fiona    Member    05/01/2017    04/30/2020