Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Auxiliary Police Advisory Committee

Department: Justice | Agency website >>

Address: RCMP "M" Division, 4100 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 1H5

Phone: 867-667-5596


The Committee is responsible for the oversight of the Auxiliary Policing program in Yukon. The Committee carries out the following functions:

  • recommends the appointment of officers to the Minister and to the officer in charge of “M” Division;
  • recommends qualifications for officers to the Minister and the officer in charge of “M” Division;
  • develops programs to enhance practices, standards and training for officers;
  • advises on the development of regulations to the Act; and
  • makes recommendations to the Minister and the officer in charge of “M” Division concerning actions to be taken with respect to officers arising out of performance issues in accordance with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act (Canada) and the regulations made under the Act.

Authority: Auxiliary Police Act, section 6
Period: December 1998 to present
Type: Advisory


The Commissioner in Executive Council appoints members to the Committee consisting of:

  • 2 persons nominated by the officer in charge of “M” Division;
  • 1 person nominated by the Minister; and
  • 1 person nominated by the auxiliary police.

Appointment process: Order in Council

Requirements: No legislated criteria required to join.

Term: No more than 3 years. May be reappointed.

Meetings: As required.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
Ford, Jeff Member 09/02/2018 09/01/2021
Jones, Brian      Member    03/17/2017   03/16/2020 
Smith, Richard    Member    04/18/2017    04/17/2020 
MacLeod, Calista   Member       02/14/2019    02/12/2021