Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Carcross/Tagish Renewable Resources Council

Department: Environment

Address: Box 70, Tagish, Yukon, Y0B 1T0

Email: CarcrossTagishrrc@gmail.com | Phone: 867-399-4923


Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

The Council’s jurisdiction is the Carcross/Tagish First Nation Traditional Territory which includes the communities of Carcross and Tagish.

Authority: Carcross/Tagish First Nation (“CTFN”) Final Agreement, Chapter 16.6.0
Period: October 22, 2005 to present
Type: Advisory


The Carcross/Tagish First Nation and Yukon government each nominate 3 members and may nominate 1 alternate member each. Alternate members may participate in the work of the Council. The Council has 2 Co-Chairs as determined by the Council and appointed by the Minister of Environment.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: Nominees shall have resided in the Carcross/Tagish First Nation Traditional Territory for at least 1 year immediately prior to their appointment and shall have long term familiarity with renewable resources in the Carcross/Tagish First Nation Traditional Territory. A temporary absence from the Carcross/Tagish First Nation Traditional Territory does not constitute an interruption of residency.

Term: 3 years for members and alternate members.

Meetings: First Monday of each month at the Tagish Community Hall from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:

Desjardin, Ron

FN Member 12/18/2018 12/17/2021
McLean, Zena FN Alternate 12/18/2018 12/17/2021
Toews, Don YG Member 03/08/2018 03/07/2021
Taylor, Randy   YG Member   01/29/2016   01/28/2019
Jobin, Jacques   YG Alternate    02/24/2016    02/23/2019 
Helm, Edna    FN Member    02/15/2017    02/14/2020 
Helm, Edna       Vice-Chair   04/04/2018   02/14/2020 
Reeder, Ken    YG Member    04/27/2017    04/26/2020 
Reeder, Ken   Chair    04/04/2018    04/26/2020 
Seki Giardiano, Fiona   FN Member   05/29/2018   05/28/2021