Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Carmacks Renewable Resources Council

Department: Environment

Address: Box 122, Carmacks, Yukon, Y0B 1C0

Phone: 867-863-6838 | Fax: 867-863-6429



Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

The Council’s jurisdiction is the Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Traditional Territory which includes the community of Carmacks.

Authority: Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation (“LSCFN”) Final Agreement, Chapter 2.12.0 and 16.6.0
Period: July 21, 1997 to present
Type: Advisory


The Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation and Yukon government each nominate 3 members and each may nominate 1 alternate member. Alternate members may participate in the work of the Council. There are 2 Co-Chairs determined by the Council and appointed by the Minister of Environment.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: All nominees to the Council should have resided in the Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Traditional Territory for at least 1 year immediately prior to their appointment and should have long term familiarity with renewable resources in the Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Traditional Territory. A temporary absence from the Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Traditional Territory does not constitute an interruption of residency.

Term: 5 years.

Meetings: Every 2nd and 3rd Wednesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the Carmacks Renewable Resources Council office.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
Garvice, Sheila   YG Member   04/04/2018   04/03/2023
Garvice, Sheila   Co-Chair   04/01/2019   03/31/2020
O'Brien, Joseph   FN Member   04/01/2018    31/03/2023
Graham, Lorraine YG Member   08/23/2017 03/31/2021
Charlie, Vera FN Member 05/18/2016 05/17/2021
Buyck, Ruth   YG Member   02/27/2019   02/26/2024
Skookum, Allen FN Member 08/23/2017  08/22/2022 
Skookum, Allen        Co-Chair   04/01/2019   03/31/2020
Billy, Douglas   FN Alternate   03/21/2018   04/19/2021