Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust Board of Trustees

Department: Justice | Agency website >>

Address: J-7 Box 2703, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 2C6

Phone: 867-667-8944 | Fax: 867-393-6240


The Board generally conducts and manages the business and affairs of the Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust (the “Trust”). The Board makes bylaws for the administration of its affairs and prescribes the procedure for applications for the funding of proposals and for the evaluation of applications. The Board considers proposals for funding and approves expenditures on these proposals from the Trust; it places terms and conditions on expenditures by the Trust on proposals approved by it, including requiring the proponents of proposals to evaluate the proposals; and it establishes criteria to be applied to proposals. With the approval of the Minister, the Board may spend those monies it considers necessary for the proper conduct of the affairs of the Trust.

The purpose of the Trust is to promote and provide services intended to: reduce the incidence of crime; prevent gender-based violence and violence against women and children; and address the root causes of criminal behaviour. Funds are used for the promotion and provision of programs and services for the victims of offences, including programs and services to promote the rights described in the Victims’ Bill of Rights. Funds are also used to promote and publish information about how crime can be prevented and how people can protect themselves from being victimized by crime, about the needs of victims of offences and about services offered for victims of offences.

Authority: Crime Prevention and Victim Services Trust Act, section 5
Period: 1998 to present
Type: Advisory


The Commissioner in Executive Council appoints the following 9 members:

  • Director of Victim Services;
  • 1 member of the public service recommended by the Minister of Justice (or 2 members if there is no one in the position of Director of Victim Services).
  • 1 member of the public service recommended by the Minister of Health and Social Services;
  • 1 member recommended by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police;
  • 2 members from the Council of Yukon First Nations, other Yukon First Nations and First Nation organizations (with an interest in justice issues) recommended by the Minister of Justice.
  • 1 member nominated by organizations concerned with gender equality issued, women's equality issues and problems facing women in Yukon and recommended by the Minister of Justice; and
  • 2 members of the general public who have expressed an interest in justice issues recommended by the Minister of Justice.

The Commissioner in Executive Council designates 1 member as the Chair. Members may designate one or more of their members as Vice-Chair.

Appointment process: Order in Council

Requirements: No legislated criteria required to join.

Term: Not exceeding 3 years. May be reappointed for further terms. Exception: The Director of Victim Services is appointed indefinitely and serves as long as he or she remains in the position.

Meetings: Approximately 2 times a year.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
Twardochleb, Lareina Chair 06/29/2015 Indeterminate
Horne, Marian Member 10/10/2017 10/09/2020
Smith, Phyllis Member 08/07/2018 08/06/2021
Grandy, Cameron   Member    01/17/2019   01/16/2022 
Cook, Kelsea   Member    10/24/2019    10/23/2022 
Mawunganidze, Ricky   Member    10/24/2019    10/23/2022 
Kaeding, Bradley   Member    09/11/2019    09/10/2022 
Horsey, Tamara   Member    09/12/2017    09/11/2020 
Ayzenberg, Luda   Member    05/07/2019    05/06/2022