Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Dän Keyi Renewable Resources Council

Department: Environment

Address: Box 50, Burwash Landing, Yukon, Y0B 1V0

Phone: 867-841-5820 | Fax: 867-841-5821


Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the Final Agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

The Council’s jurisdiction is the Kluane First Nation Traditional Territory which includes the communities of Beaver Creek, Burwash Landing, and Destruction Bay.

Authority: Kluane First Nation (“KFN”) Final Agreement, Chapter 16.6

Period: October 18, 2003 to present
Type: Advisory


The Kluane First Nation and Yukon government each nominate 3 members and may each nominate an alternate member. Alternate members may participate in the work of the Council. The Minister of Environment appoints 2 Co-Chairs as determined by the Council.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: Members should be a resident within Kluane First Nation Traditional Territory. A resident is a person who has long term familiarity with the Kluane First Nation Traditional Territory and its renewable resources and who lives year round in the Kluane First Nation Traditional Territory. A temporary absence from the Kluane First Nation Traditional Territory does not constitute an interruption of residency.

Term: 3 year term for members and alternates.

Meetings: Once a month from September to June in the Council office at the Kluane Lake Athletic Association community building in Destruction Bay, Yukon.

Are there any vacancies?Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:


Name Position From: To:
Dickson, Alana FN Alternate Member 02/12/2015 02/11/2018
Asselstine, Colin YG Member 02/24/2016 02/23/2019
Asselstine, Colin    Co-Chair    03/01/2018    02/23/2019 
Johnson, Mary Jane    FN Member    07/31/2016    07/30/2019 
Johnson, Sandra    Co-Chair    04/13/2017    03/28/2018 
Upton, Peter   YG Member   05/25/2017   05/24/2020
Flumerfelt, Suzanne   YG Member   05/25/2017   05/24/2017