Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Dawson District Renewable Resources Council

Department: Environment

Address: Box 1380, Dawson City, Yukon, Y0B 1G0

Phone: 867-993-6976 | Fax: 867-993-6093


Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the Final Agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

The Council’s jurisdiction is the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Traditional Territory which includes the community of Dawson City.

Authority: Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in Final Agreement, Chapter 16.6.0
Period: July 16, 1998 to present
Type: Advisory


The Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in and Yukon government each nominate 3 members and may each nominate 1 additional alternate member. Alternate members may participate in the work of the Council. The Minister of Environment appoints 2 Co-Chairs as determined by the Council.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: All nominees to the Council should have resided in the Traditional Territory of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in for at least 1 year immediately prior to their appointment and should have long term familiarity with renewable resources in Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Traditional Territory. A temporary absence from Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Traditional Territory does not constitute an interruption of residency.

Term: 3 year term for members and alternate members.

Meetings: Twice a month on Thursdays at the Madame Tremblay Building on 3rd and King Street.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:


Name Position From: To:
Fraser, Ian FN Member 01/17/2019 06/07/2020
Weirda, Mark          YG Member    05/01/2018   04/30/2021 
Weirda, Mark   Co-Chair    01/16/2020    01/15/2021 
Reynolds, Daniel (Dan)   YG Member   06/08/2017    06/07/2020 
Reynolds, Daniel (Dan)   Co-Chair   01/16/2020   06/07/2020
Farr, Robert   FN Member    09/18/2018    09/17/2021 
Fraser, Doug   FN Member    12/18/2018    12/17/2021 
Kormendy, Peggy   FN Alternate   01/17/2019    06/07/2020 
Mitchell, John    YG Member    08/28/2019    08/27/2022 
Mather, John Kyler   YG Alternate   08/28/2019   08/27/2022