Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Law Society of Yukon (Executive)

Department: Justice | Agency website >>

Address: #304 - 104 Elliott Street, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 0M2

Email: info@lawsocietyyukon.com | Phone: 867-668-4231 | Fax: 867-667-7556


The affairs of the Law Society of Yukon are managed and conducted by the Executive. The Law Society of Yukon (the “Society”) serves and protects the public interest in the administration of justice by ensuring the independence, integrity and honour of its members and establishing standards for the education, professional responsibility and competence of its members. The Society is not a Yukon government agency; however, the Yukon government appoints members to the Executive.

Authority: Legal Profession Act, section 4
Period: 1985 to present
Type: Regulatory


The Executive is composed of at least 6 members. Of the members at least 4 are elected by, and from among the active members of the Society, and 2 are not members of the Society. From among the members of the Executive there is a President who must be an active member of the Society.

Appointment process: Order in Council

Requirements: Except for the two public representative appointments, a person is not eligible for nomination and election to the Executive unless they are an active member of the Society resident in the Yukon. The public representatives may be required to sit on discipline appeal panels and have full voting rights as members of the Executive and may sit on Executive sub-committees.

Term: Not to exceed 12 months. If the member is re-elected or reappointed, his or her term will be terminated by the election or appointment of another person in his or her place. Members of the Executive who are non-members are appointed by the Commissioner in Executive Council for a term of 2 years.

Meetings: Approximately 18 times a year.

Are there any vacancies? 
Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.
There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
Butler, Chris   Member    03/28/2019    03/27/2021