Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Mayo District Renewable Resources Council

Department: Environment

Address: Box 249, Mayo, Yukon, Y0B 1M0

Phone: 867-996-2942 | Email: info@mayorrc.ca


Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

The Council’s jurisdiction is the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Traditional Territory which includes the communities of Mayo, Stewart Crossing, Elsa, and Keno City.

Authority: First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Final Agreement, Chapter 2.12.0 and 16.6
Period: May 29, 1993 to present
Type: Advisory


The First Nation of Na-cho Nyak Dun and Yukon government each nominate 3 members and may each nominate 1 alternate member. Alternate members may participate in the work of the Council. The Council has 2 Co-Chairs as determined by the Council and appointed by The Minister of Environment.

The 3 members who are nominees of the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun will be replaced by 3 members who are nominees of the Tetlit Gwich'in when considering matters respecting the Primary Use Area.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: All nominees to the Council, except nominees of the Tetlit Gwich'in, will have lived in the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Traditional Territory for at least 1 year immediately prior to their appointment, and will have long term familiarity with renewable resources in the Traditional Territory of the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun. A Council member may reside temporarily outside of the Traditional Territory of the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun if doing work or studies related to the functions of the Council.

Term: 5 years.

Meetings: The first and third Mondays of each month at 7:30 p.m.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:


Name Position From: To:
McDiarmid, Dan   YG Member   08/30/2018   08/29/2023
Johnny, Jimmy FN Member 04/01/2018 03/31/2023
Peter, Mikolay               FN Member   12/18/2018   12/17/2023
Patterson, Franklin    FN Member   08/11/2015    09/08/2019 
Patterson, Franklin   Chair    05/01/2018    09/09/2019 
Andre, Blair YG Member 05/07/2014 05/06/2019
Andre, Blair   Vice-Chair    05/01/2018   05/06/2019 
Zaluski, Brian   YG Alternate   05/01/2018   04/30/2023
Johnson, Edwin   YG Member   11/23/2017   03/31/2020
Clark, Jacqueline   FN Alternate    12/18/2018    03/31/2023