Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

North Yukon Renewable Resources Council

Department: Environment

Address: Box 80, Old Crow, Yukon, Y0B 1N0

Email: nyrrc@northwestel.net | Phone: 867-966-3034 | Fax: 867-966-3036


Renewable Resources Councils are a primary instrument for local renewable resources management as set out in the final agreements. Each Renewable Resources Council, acting in the public interest and consistent with their Final Agreement may make recommendations to the Minister, the affected Yukon First Nation, the Fish and Wildlife Management Board and the Salmon Sub-Committee on any matter related to conservation of fish and wildlife. Each Renewable Resources Council makes provisions for public involvement in the development of its decisions and its recommendations.

The Council’s jurisdiction is the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Traditional Territory which includes the community of Old Crow.

Authority: Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation (“VGFN”) Final Agreement, Chapter 2.12 and 16.6
Period: May 29, 1993 to present
Type: Advisory


The Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation and Yukon government each nominate 3 members and may each nominate 1 alternate member. An alternate member may participate in the work of the Council. Yukon government appoints 2 Co-Chairs who are then determined by the Council.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: All nominees must be resident within the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Traditional Territory. A resident is a person who has long term familiarity with the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Traditional Territory and its renewable resources and who lives in Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Traditional Territory.

Term: 5 year term.

Meetings: The first Tuesday of each month from 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. at the John Tizya Center in Old Crow.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:


Name Position From: To:
Lord, David    FN Member    10/09/2014    10/08/2019 
Lord, David   Chair    06/08/2017    03/31/2019 
Frost, Randy YG Member 05/01/2018 03/31/2019
Peter, Joel FN Alternate 04/13/2016 04/12/2021
Frost, Brenda       FN Member    02/13/2019    02/12/2024 
Rispin, Philip FN Member 04/13/2016 04/12/2021
Njootli, Stanley YG Member 08/26/2015 08/25/2020
Kyikavichik, Brandon    YG Member    05/11/2017    05/10/2022 
Kyikavichik, Brandon    Vice-Chair   08/23/2017    04/09/2019