Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Porcupine Caribou Management Board

Department: Environment | Agency website >>

Address: PO Box 31723 Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 6L3

Email: pcmb@taiga.net | Phone: 867-633-4780 | Fax: 867-393-3904


Provides advice and makes recommendations to governments and traditional caribou users for the conservation and management of the Porcupine Caribou herd and its habitat. The Board establishes and maintains communications with Native users, governments and others to ensure Native participation in cooperative management decisions.

Authority: Porcupine Caribou Management Agreement (1985)

Period: June 10, 1986 to present
Type: Advisory


The Minister of Environment and the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development confirm the Board's nomination for Chair. This is an 8 member board representing 6 signatories. The signatories appoint the following members:

  • Government of Canada—1 member appointed jointly by the Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
  • Government of Yukon—2 members (1 seat is for the Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in First Nation to ensure representation)
  • Council of Yukon First Nations (CYFN)—2 members to represent Old Crow, Dawson and Mayo. CYFN has 2 seats for 3 First Nations and has appointed 1 member for Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation (Old Crow) and 1 member for the First Nation of Na-cho Nyak Dün (Mayo)
  • Government of Northwest Territories—1 member
  • Dene/Métis—1 member to represent the Dene/Métis of Aklavik, Inuvik, Fort McPherson and Arctic River. The Dene/Métis is represented by the Gwich'in Tribal Council
  • Inuvialuit Game Council—1 member to represent Inuvialuit from Aklavik, Inuvik and Tuktoyaktuk.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: No legislated criteria required to join.

Term: 5 years.

Meetings: 4 times a year and as needed.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
Taylor, Eddie Alternate Member 06/29/2015 06/28/2020
Meister, Kirby Alternate Member 11/01/2017 10/31/2022
McCutchen, Nicole Member 05/18/2016 05/17/2021
McCulley, Alice    Member    08/30/2016    08/29/2021