Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Registered Psychiatric Nurses Advisory Committee

Department: Community Services

Address: 307 Black Street, Box 2703 C-5, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 2C6

Phone: 867-667-5111 | Fax: 867-667-3609


  • Advise the Government of Yukon about:
    • educational and practice standards to be set for psychiatric nurses,
    • educational programs for psychiatric nurses, and
    • qualifications for registration;
  • At the request of the Registrar:
    • review applications for registration,
    • advise on what to do about complaints of unprofessional conduct, and
    • advise on the composition of the discipline committee;
  • provide to the public information about the functions and areas of competence and standards of practice for psychiatric nurses;
  • develop and review clinical practice statements for psychiatric nurses;
  • participate in national initiatives and provide feedback to the registrar; and
  • perform any other tasks in keeping with the purposes of the Act.


Period: August 2009 to present
Type: Advisory


Consists of at least 3 members—1 of whom is appointed as Chair.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: Must be a full registrant or an inactive registrant with the Registered Psychiatric Nurses registrar.

Term: Maximum of 3 years.

Meetings: No less than once annually to update clinical practice statements for distribution by the Registrar.

Orientation handbook 228 KB

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members: There are no active members at this time.