Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Students Financial Assistance Committee

Department: Education

Address: Advanced Education Branch, Department of Education, Box 2703, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 2C6

Phone: 867-667-5131; 1-800-661-0408, local 5131 | Fax: 867-667-8555


The Committee acts as a selection committee for scholarships and as an appeal board for students whose applications were rejected by the Students Financial Services Officer.


Period: 1975 to present
Type: Adjudicative


The Commissioner in Executive Council appoints a Chair and not less than 5 members. The Commissioner will appoint (if possible) not less than 2 members who have held previous appointments on the Committee.

Appointment process: Order in Council

Requirements: No legislated criteria required to join.

Term: 3 years. Eligible for reappointment.

Meetings: Monthly if needed. Meetings are held at the Department of Education and generally last between 1—2 hours.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.
There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
Nash, Ken Member 07/06/2014 07/05/2017
Krocker, Nikki Member 07/06/2014 07/05/2017
Betts, Laurel Member 05/25/2017 05/24/2020
Henderson, Sandra Member 06/30/2014 06/29/2017
Cassidy, Pat    Member    08/17/2016    08/16/2019