Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Hospital Corporation Board of Trustees (Yukon)

Department: Health and Social Services | Agency website >>

Address: #5 Hospital Road, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 3H7

Phone: 867-393-8732 | Fax: 867-393-8707


The Board governs the activities and programs of the Yukon Hospital Corporation. The objects of the Corporation are to supply:

  • hospital and medical care and service;
  • supervised residential care and continuing care; and
  • rehabilitative care and services so as to meet the needs of people in Yukon.


Period: 1989 to present
Type: Governing


The Chief Executive Officer is appointed under section 7 of the Act. The Commissioner in Executive Council appoints the following members:

  • 3 members nominated by Yukon First Nations;
  • 2 members nominated by the councils of municipalities other than the City of Whitehorse;
  • 1 member nominated by the Council for Yukon First Nations, or its successor as the coordinating body for Yukon’s First Nations;
  • 1 member nominated by the council of the City of Whitehorse;
  • 1 member nominated by the medical staff of the Corporation;
  • 1 member nominated by the non-medical staff of the Corporation;
  • 3 members chosen from the public at large; and
  • 2 members chosen from the public service of Yukon.

The Minister may designate one of the members to be the Chair of the Board and the members of the board may designate one or more of their number to be a Vice-Chair of the Board.

Appointment process: Ministerial appointment

Requirements: Groups entitled to make nominations must nominate an equal number of men and women. If a group fails to make the nominations it is entitled to make, or fails to nominate more than one man and one woman, the Commissioner in Executive Council may appoint persons who are nominated by the Minister instead of by the group in question.

Term: Not exceeding 3 years. May be reappointed for further terms.

Meetings: Once a month, except July.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:


Name Position From: To:
LaPrairie, Clarke Yukon Public Service Member 03/27/2015 03/20/2018
Gillen, Brian   Chair   03/01/2017   02/28/2018
Gillen, Brian        Public Member    03/01/2017    02/28/2018 
Strand, Diane FN Member 03/27/2015 03/20/2018
Dr. Dalinghaus, Kathleen Medical Staff Member 05/11/2017 03/23/2019
Nassiopoulos, George   Municipal Member   03/27/2015   03/20/2018
Massie, Jay Public Member 09/26/2014 09/22/2017
Martin, Patricia CYFN Member 03/27/2015 03/20/2018
Firth, John City of Whitehorse Member 03/24/2014 03/23/2019
Stokes-Nash, Sue   Public Member   09/23/2015   09/22/2018
Solberg, Tanya   Staff Member   03/27/2015   03/20/2018
Holmes, Vera   Municipal Member   03/27/2015   03/20/2018
Mooney, Susan    Public Service Member of Yukon    04/20/2016    03/20/2019