Executive Council Office

Boards and Committees

Water Board (Yukon)

Department: Executive Council Office | Agency website >>

Address: Suite 106, 419 Range Road, Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 3V1

Phone: 867-456-3980 | Fax: 867-456-3890


To provide for the conservation, development and utilization of waters for the benefit of all Canadians and for the residents of Yukon in particular. We achieve this by issuing licenses for the use of water and/or the deposit of waste.


Period: 1970's to present
Type: Regulatory


Cabinet appoints between 4 and 9 members and the Premier appoints 1 Chair and 1 Vice-Chair from the membership.

  • 1/3 (one-third) of the members are nominated by the Council for Yukon First Nations (UFA sec.14.4.1) 
  • up to 3 members are nominated by the Premier of Yukon
  • remaining members are comprised of at least 1 nominee from each federal department most directly concerned with the management of waters (most recently Indian Affairs and Northern Development, Environment Canada and Health Canada).

Appointment process: Order in Council

Requirements: No legislated criteria required to join.

Term: 3 years.

Meetings: At least once a month and as required.

Are there any vacancies? Our vacancies page lists ALL boards and committees looking for members.

Apply: There is 1 process to apply to ALL Yukon government boards and committees.

Current members:

Name Position From: To:
McDonald, Piers         Chair    09/21/2017    12/10/2018 
Sullivan, Paul   Member    09/21/2017   09/20/2020
Barrett, Wesley     Member 05/16/2016 05/15/2019
Momeyer, Steven    Member    02/01/2017    01/31/2020 
Warrington, Blanche    Member    02/01/2017    01/31/2020 
Sidney, Carl    Member    02/01/2017    01/31/2020 
Bowen, Jon    Member    04/18/2017    04/17/2020 
Bowen, Jon           Vice-Chair    01/15/2018    02/26/2019 
Smoler, Russel   Member   05/15/2018   02/26/2019
Leckie, Anne    Member    04/27/2017    04/26/2020